Who we are?

AFACT has been promoting adoption of UN/CEFACT tools for about 29 years. AFACT stands for the Asia Pacific Council for Trade Facilitation and Electronic Business. It's a non-profit, non-governmental organization that is open to participation from the representatives of member economies and experts from private sectors within the Asia-Pacific region.

The forerunner of AFACT was ASEB (Asia EDIFACT Board) established in 1990 in response to disseminate EDIFACT (Electronic Data Interchange for Administration, Commerce and Transport) policies and activities in the Asia -Pacific region. After 8 years' contribution to facilitate international transaction within the region, through the simplification and harmonization of procedures and information flows, the need for re-engineering was raised in the 16th ASEB meeting to conform to the rapidly changing trend of EDI and EC, and to respond to the successful restructure of UN/CEFACT.

As a result of re-engineering, AFACT marked down the era of ASEB in 1998.

In 1999, the epoch of AFACT was officially commenced

To promote and represent interests and activities of UN/CEFACT to AFACT members. Most UN/CEFACT projects have been mainly in those areas related to trade facilitation on its BUY/SHIP/PAY model. AFACT activities also mainly have been related to the same area. UN/CEFACT positively proceeds projects in various significant areas including especially International Trade Procedure Program Development Area (PDA), BUY/PAY PDA, SHIP PDA, Sectorial PDA (Agriculture, Travel Tourism and Leisure Domain and Utility Domain) and Methodology and Technology PDA.

While joining the activities of UN/CEFACT (Forums and working group sessions)

The deliverables of AFACT activities may provide influence the global approach of UN/CEFACT effectively.


AFACT aims to promote the commitment and development of trade facilitation, electronic business policies and activities in the Asia Pacific region, mainly focusing on those promoted by UN/CEFACT (United Nations Center for Trade Facilitation and Electronic Business), to guide, stimulate, improve and promote the ability of business, trade and administrative organizations from members, as well as to exchange products and relevant services effectively within AFACT community.

Currently, there are 20 members from Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Chinese Taipei, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Pakistan, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Vietnam. Each of which is represented by a local organization.

PAA (Pan-Asian e-commerce Alliance) is the associate members of AFACT, which is dedicated to promoting cooperation in implementing trade facilitation and e-commerce in this region.

There are working Committees and Working Groups acting under AFACT, which have their own missions and programs of work. These are, Business Domain Committee (BDC), Community Support Committee (CSC) and Technology and Methodology Committee (TMC) and TT&L Working Group (Travel, Tourism, and Leisure).


The common missions of those working committees are:
1. Developing methods to facilitate trade transactions, fit to the member economies and in conformity with the standards and the recommendation developed by UN/CEFACT;
2. Promoting both the use of these methods and associated best practices, through channels such as government, industry and service associations;
3. Coordinating its work with UN/CEFACT and other relevant international, regional and non-governmental organizations; and
4. Enhancing the cooperation among the AFACT members and promoting the objectives of the mission statement in the Asia Pacific region.